MPs and Councillors

Our elected representatives across the North West.

Tim Farron has been MP for Westmorland & Lonsdale since 2005.

He was Liberal Democrat party leader 2015-2017.

Tim lives in Milnthorpe, south Cumbria, with his wife Rosie, his daughters Isabella and Gracie and his sons Jude and Laurie. In his limited spare time, Tim enjoys following the (mis)fortunes of Blackburn Rovers, playing football, fell running, walking in the Lake District, listening to various kinds of music and spending time with family and friends.

Tim became an MP for Westmorland and Lonsdale in 2005 ending a 95 year rule by the Tories, winning by 267 votes. In the 2010 general election Tim maintained his seat with a strong 60% majority and achieved an 11.1% swing from the Conservatives.


Tim Farron MP

Councillors across the North West

The Liberal Democrats are represented in most Town Halls across the North West.


Cumberland: 4 (List of all 46 councillors here)

Westmorland & Furness: 36 (List of all 65 councillors here)


Burnley 7 (List of all 45 councillors here)

Fylde 2 (List of all 37 councillors here)

Lancaster 7 (List of all 61 councillors here)

Preston 12 (List of all 48 councillors here)

Pendle 8 (List of all 7 Lib Dem councillors here)

Ribble Valley 5 (List of all 40 councillors here)

South RIbble 5 (List of all 50 councillors here)

There are no Lib Dem councillors at present on Blackpool, Blackburn with Darwen, Chorley, Hyndburn, Wyre or Rossendale.


Knowsley 3 (List of all 45 councillors here)

Liverpool 15 (List of our 15 councillors here)

Sefton 9 (List of all 66 councillors here)

St Helens 4 (List of all 48 councillors here)

Wirral 6 (List of all 66 councillors here)

Greater Manchester:

Bolton 6 (List of all 60 councillors here)

Manchester 4 (List of all 96 councillors here)

Oldham 9 (List of all 60 councillors here)

Rochdale 3 (List of all 60 councillors here)

Stockport 31 (List of all 63 councillors here)

Trafford 6 (List of all 63 councillors here)

There are no Lib Dems councillors at present on Bury, Salford, Tameside or Wigan


Warrington: 12 (List of all 58 councillors here)

Halton: 3 (List of all 54 councillors here)

Cheshire East: 2 (List of all 82 councillors here)

Cheshire West & Chester:1 (List of all 70 councillors here)

This website uses cookies

Like most websites, this site uses cookies. Some are required to make it work, while others are used for statistical or marketing purposes. If you choose not to allow cookies some features may not be available, such as content from other websites. Please read our Cookie Policy for more information.

Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the website to function properly.
Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us to understand how our visitors use our website.
Marketing cookies are used by third parties or publishers to display personalized advertisements. They do this by tracking visitors across websites.