Our Best General Election Result Ever

5 Jul 2024
Ed Davey in front of a crowd holding Liberal Democrat posters

With two seats yet to declare the Liberal Democrats have had our best ever General Election result. We have over 70 MPs - beating our previous best result of 62 MPs in 2005.

Here in the North West we gained three seats on the new boundaries - this means now we have as many seats in the North West as the Conservatives.


Tom Morrison MP 23,681 (46.7%, up 4.9%)
Majority 12,235 - gain from Conservative

Hazel Grove

Lisa Smart MP 17,238 (37.7%, up 0.5%)
Majority 6,500 - gain from Conservative

Westmorland & Lonsdale

Tim Farron MP 31,061 (62.7%, up 22.0%)
Majority 21,472 - gain from Conservative

(while we won the 2019 Westmorland & Lonsdale seat, significantly changed boundaries made this a notional Conservative seat)

UPDATE: Nationwide we won 72 seats:

  • Bath:  Wera Hobhouse
  • Bicester & Woodstock:  Callum Miller
  • Brecon, Radnor & Cwm Tawe:  David Chadwick
  • Caithness, Sutherland & Easter Ross:  Jamie Stone
  • Cambridgeshire South:  Pippa Heylings
  • Carshalton & Wallington:  Bobby Dean
  • Cheadle:  Tom Morrison
  • Chelmsford:  Marie Goldman
  • Cheltenham:  Max Wilkinson
  • Chesham & Amersham:  Sarah Green
  • Chichester:   Jess Brown-Fuller
  • Chippenham:  Sarah Gibson
  • Cornwall North:   Ben Maguire
  • Cotswolds South:  Roz Savage
  • Devon North:  Ian Roome
  • Devon South:  Caroline Voaden
  • Didcot & Wantage:  Olly Glover
  • Dorking & Horley:  Chris Coghlan
  • Dorset Mid & North Poole:  Vikki Slade
  • Dorset West:  Edward Morello
  • Dunbartonshire Mid:  Susan Murray
  • Eastbourne:  Josh Babarinde
  • Eastleigh:  Liz Jarvis
  • Edinburgh West:  Christine Jardine
  • Ely & East Cambridgeshire:  Charlotte Cane
  • Epsom & Ewell:  Helen Maguire
  • Esher & Walton:  Monica Harding
  • Fife North East:  Wendy Chamberlain
  • Frome & East Somerset:  Anna Sabine
  • Glastonbury & Somerton:  Sarah Dyke
  • Guildford:  Zoe Franklin
  • Hampshire North East:  Alex Brewer
  • Harpenden & Berkhamsted:  Victoria Collins
  • Harrogate & Knaresborough:  Tom Gordon
  • Hazel Grove:  Lisa Smart
  • Henley & Thame:  Freddie van Mierlo
  • Honiton & Sidmouth:  Richard Foord
  • Horsham:  John Milne
  • Inverness, Skye & West Ross:  Angus MacDonald
  • Lewes:  James MacCleary
  • Kingston & Surbiton:  Ed Davey
  • Maidenhead:  Joshua Reynolds
  • Melksham & Devizes:  Brian Mathew
  • Newbury:  Lee Dillon
  • Newton Abbot:  Martin Wrigley
  • Norfolk North:  Steff Aquarone
  • Orkney & Shetland:  Alistair Carmichael
  • Oxford West & Abingdon:  Layla Moran
  • Richmond Park:  Sarah Olney
  • Shropshire North:  Helen Morgan
  • St Albans:  Daisy Cooper
  • St Ives:  Andrew George
  • St Neots & Mid Cambs:  Ian Sollom
  • Stratford-on-Avon:  Manuela Perteghella
  • Surrey Heath:  Al Pinkerton
  • Sussex Mid:  Alison Bennett
  • Sutton & Cheam:  Luke Taylor
  • Taunton & Wellington:  Gideon Amos
  • Tewkesbury:  Cameron Thomas
  • Thornbury & Yate:  Claire Young
  • Tiverton & Minehead:  Rachel Gilmour
  • Torbay:  Steve Darling
  • Tunbridge Wells:  Mike Martin
  • Twickenham:  Munira Wilson
  • Wells & Mendip Hills:  Tessa Munt
  • Westmorland & Lonsdale:  Tim Farron
  • Wimbledon:  Paul Kohler
  • Winchester:  Danny Chambers
  • Witney:  Charlie Maynard
  • Woking:  Will Forster
  • Wokingham:  Clive Jones
  • Yeovil:  Adam Dance


This website uses cookies

Like most websites, this site uses cookies. Some are required to make it work, while others are used for statistical or marketing purposes. If you choose not to allow cookies some features may not be available, such as content from other websites. Please read our Cookie Policy for more information.

Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the website to function properly.
Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us to understand how our visitors use our website.
Marketing cookies are used by third parties or publishers to display personalized advertisements. They do this by tracking visitors across websites.